On Sunday, March 24th, The Montfort Academy hosted the 2nd Annual Chess Tournament organized by chess coach and history teacher Dr. Nathan Liebowitz. Roughly 30 competitors split equally between the Adult Division and the Youth Division competed in a four round Swiss Style Chess Tournament.

Winners in the Youth Division were (1) Phelim Clery (TMA '22), (2) Aidan Connelly, and (3) Brian Curtin (TMA '22). Winners in the Adult Division were (1) Robert O'keefe (UN School Physics teacher), and a three way tie between Sean Cobb (TMA '15), Abe Abdallah (current Montfort father), and William Edelson (former Montfort chess coach).

Many thanks to Dr. Jacqueline LoFaro, Mr. Steven Edelson, Mrs. Catherine Halleran, and Montfort freshman Peter Rosario for helping to organize the event.

Marla Greco